The History of the Kirchenwirt

The history of the Kirchenwirt in Leogang is closely connected to the development of the province of Salzburg. After all the protective walls and vaults have experienced and survived over 680 years. First documented in 1326, the Kirchenwirt has since been shelter for countless guests. Emperors and Kings have been among those who searched for rest and recreation at the Kirchenwirt. The property has long been in possession of the archbishop – Wolf Dietrich von Reichenau – who put his mistress ‘Salome Alt’ out of sight in the Pinzgau region using the Kirchenwirt as hideout. A considerable legacy of this time is the gothic vault in our stables (Samerstall).

Today, after a meticulous restoration, the Kirchenwirt shows discrete elegance and offers the comfort of a modern Hotel. Every visit will turn out to be a wonderful and valuable experience.

Since 1888 the Kirchenwirt is in ownership of the Unterrainer family. With great attention to details our parents Elisabeth and Hannes take grand care of our guests.

With great personal commitment they make sure that our guests experience a balanced composition of recreation and activity, something everyone can expect from a wonderful holiday.

English Deutsch Newsletter Kontakt & Impressum